What’s in the type?

It’s been three weeks since I have had this Dilli seated in black and white on my desktop screen. To me it was as Delhi as it gets. I LOVE it! Today, at my cousin’s place, my uncle who’s lived in Delhi almost all his life seemed to differ. He thought it could be made more readable. Google results for my image search revealed another attempt by the INTACH guys that seems to have been abandoned now (and no surprise at that). Thinking of how much could this brilliant image be screwed with, I came ahead and together, we gave it a shot on photoshop. And our Dilli appeared. The tittle on the ‘i’ made prominent. d-i-l-l-i: clearer than the previous version. The word appears a little more indigenous than exotic  in my opinion and rings Delhi 6 more than Shahjahanabad in my head (but that’s my opinion). What do you guys think? Which one do you like better? Take either of the images and share with us your own version (until someone from INTACH chances upon this article and asks us to remove all this enthusiastic guerrilla dilliness). Until then!

5 thoughts on “What’s in the type?

  1. I agree with Bhavika…though I’m leaning more towards the first because the second looks…’arabian nights’?(for want of a better phrase)

  2. Hey Rohan…

    I made this while I was working at Leburnum publishing for Dilli: A living hertitage, which was an exhibition by INTACH during common wealth games (ppst). I am preety much in love with this too. There were many more explorations but u know when u r working on a deadline… one can never spend the amount of time one should. Apart from that… thanks for posting it 🙂

Leave a Reply

